<--Reverse
Forward-->

Bombino

 

Omara "Bombino" Moctar, a young Tuareg guitarist and songwriter, was raised during an era of armed struggles for independence and violent suppression by government forces. His electrifying jams capture the spirit of resistance and rebellion while echoing with guitar riffs reminiscent of fellow Africans Tinariwen and Ali Farka Touré not to mention rock and blues icons such as Jimi Hendrix, John Lee Hooker and Jimmy Page. Already a superstar in the Tuareg community, with the release of Agadez on Cumbancha Discovery Bombino's stature as one of Africa's hottest young guitarists has been revealed to the world.

Latest News

April 02, 2013 — 

We are so excited to announce the release of Bombino's new albumNomad. At the invitation of The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach, Bombino and his band traveled from Niger to Nashville for the recording, helmed by Auerbach at his studio, Easy Eye Sound. Take a peak at this video for a look inside the studio during the session -- you'll see it was an incredible atmosphere that, according to Uncut, created "a heavy-duty recalibration of desert blues."

   ...read more
February 01, 2013 — 

When Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys asked if he could produce Bombino's next album we were very happy...that is until Auerbach said he would only do it if the album came out on his label, Nonesuch. At first, we were a bit insulted, but we had to swallow our pride and admit that this was a good move for Bombino. After all, we want the best for our artists, even if that means they sometimes outgrow us. After much back and forth and amicable negotations from all parties, Cumbancha reached an agreement with Nonesuch and Bombino that released him from his Cumbancha contract yet kept us involved and motivated to help make the album and Bombino as successful as possible.

 

So, we are pleased to announce that the Auerbach-produced album Nomad will be released by Nonesuch on April 2. Bombino also has an impressive line up of concerts scheduled this year that will bring him from the stages of some of the world's biggest rock festivals to the hallowed halls of Carnegie Hall. Auerbach definitely kicked things up a notch, bringing a powerful new sound that we are confident will help make Bombino Africa's biggest ever rock star. And if anyone deserves the fame, it is this truly and uniquely talented artist. We're proud to have been a part of launching Bombino's career and we look forward to celebrating his continued success.

 

For more about the new album, a link to a video teaser and preorder of the CD and vinyl, read on...

   ...read more
November 21, 2012 — 

World-renowned guitar hero Omara “Bombino” Moctar is raising money to furnish a community rehearsal and performance studio in his hometown of Niamey, Niger. This will be a free, public rehearsal space for young musicians to develop their craft, as well as Niamey's professional musicians to hone theirs. Following the end of the Second Tuareg Rebellion in 2008 (during which guitars were banned) the music scene in Niger has been blossoming. However, in Niamey fully equipped rehearsal spaces are virtually non-existent and certainly not accessible to most musicians and would-be young musicians.

 

You can click here to see more details and view the different levels of contributions that you can make to this campaign. If you haven't yet heard Bombino's debut album Agadez click here to stream it in full.

   ...read more
June 07, 2012 — 

The CNN program African Voices recently did a piece on Cumbancha's rising Desert Blues star Bombino, detailing his compelling story as well as his recent accomplishments. The half-hour program is scheduled for it's initial broadcast on Friday, June 8th (7:30 GMT) and will continue to broadcast throughout the week. You will also be able to stream the program online at CNN.com

 

Television broadcast schedule:

DATE BROADCAST TIME
Friday June 8th 0730 GMT 3:30am EST
Saturday June 9th 1430 GMT 10:30am EST
  1730 GMT 1:30pm EST
Sunday June 10th 0800 GMT 4:00am EST
Monday June 11th 0930 GMT 5:30am EST
Tuesday June 12th 0430 GMT 12:30am EST


   ...read more
April 14, 2012 — 

Bombino and his band perform a special acoustic song entitled Imouhar for Pitchfork.TV in Highline Park in New York City's Manhattan.

   ...read more
February 11, 2012 — 

Desert blues/rock phenomenon Bombino returns to North America this spring for an extensive 25-date tour across the US & Canada. New dates may still be added. Visit the events page for details on every show and links to purchase tickets. Now's your chance to catch the artist iTunes selected as "Breakthrough World Music Artist of 2011". Read on for a complete list of confirmed tour dates.

   ...read more

Bombino Makes NPR's 50 Favorite Albums of 2011

December 05, 2011 — 

Bombino's debut album Agadez has been selected by NPR as one of their favorite albums of 2011. In fact, the album made it into the Top 50 along side the likes of Adele, Radiohead, James Blake, Wilco and many others. Click here to check out the complete list and if you haven't already listen to Agadez here.

October 26, 2011 — 

Hot off the heels of a two month European tour, North African guitar phenomenon Bombino is setting the stage for his second North American tour this November and December.

   ...read more
previous
 
 

Biography

APR
15
Oakland, California
APR
16
Portland, Oregon
APR
17
Whistler, British Columbia
[Canada]
APR
19
Tulsa, Oklahoma
APR
20
APR
21
Las Vegas, Nevada
APR
22
Las Vegas, Nevada

Contacts

Booking:: United States
Booking:: Canada
Booking:: Europe
Management
Publicist: North America
Publicist: Europe

Social Networks